DCM English
HOME  |  Contact us  |  Purchase  |  Composers  |  Archive


DCM 157

Ajouter au panier  View Basket
Original music and lyrics by Germinal Tenas
Arrangements by Gilles Tinayre
Symphony orchestra and chorus conducted by Harry Rabinowitz
DCM 157 • LIMITED EDITION 350 • UPC: 771028238743

Release date: March 1st, 2014 A successful producer, Christian Fechner wanted to please himself bydirecting an epic movie which went beyond the usual standards of French cinema. Released in 1993, Justinien Trouvé or God’s Bastard, co-written with historian Michel Folco, recounts the misadventures of an abandoned child at the end of the 17th century in France, under the reign of Louis XIV. Afflicted by a terrible mutilation, wrongly accused of a crime, Justinien will be forced to become an executioner to avoid the galleys.

God’s Bastard successfully falls within the tradition of swashbuckling film-making while sometimes taking the allure of a philosophical tale. Despite its unusual length (160 minutes) and the absence of big name stars, the movie should have attracted a large audience. It was not the case because of a lack of advertising and unfavorable press coverage. Many critics welcomed the work of Fechner as a manifestation of pretentious megalomania. 
Today, thanks to the Internet, Justinien has come out of the shadows, much like Germinal Tenas’ music, which we present here in a newly remastered version. Among the performers, one can notice many renowned soloists in the field of traditional European music, while the symphonic parts were recorded at CTS Studios in England, with the participation of 80 musicians and 60 choristers. 
The success of this unusual score, which draws on sources from the Middle Ages and the Renaissance with an electronic sounds contribution, is obviously due to the talent of the composer and his arranger, but it also reflects Germinal Tenas’ other personal qualities. This man was able to communicate his passion and enthusiasm to his numerous collaborators. Musicians, singers and conductor as well as technicians; everybody seems to have delivered the best of themselves to make this soundtrack a true masterpiece.
The lavish 20-page color booklet has liner notes in French and English. This de luxe 350 copies limited edition is licensed by Studiocanal.

Preview audio samples from the album on               Preview the booklet here  
  01  Justinien’s lament  (2:11) Écouter 14  Toward the sacred mountain  (2:56)
02  Miserere Nobis - The mass grave  (3:46)   15  Introduction to the baron  (2:03)
  03  Wooden nose  (1:00)   16  The dawn  (2:19)
04  The training  (1:38)   17  The galley slaves  (2:31)
  05  Coutouly’s stories  (2:35)   18  Atencion Vilatons - The levy duties  (1:37)
  06  Justinien’s sadness  (1:39)   19  Fide et Obsequio - The pursuit  (2:03)
07  The great watchman  (3:14)   20  Moorish memories  (1:49)
Écouter 08  The parting  (2:54)   21  The birth  (3:48)
Écouter 09  Rebellion in Racleterre  (2:50)   22  Feast day  (1:16)
Écouter 10  Mouchette’s betrayal  (1:32) Écouter 23  The last truth  (1:41)
  11  Fide et Obsequio - The escape  (3:03) Écouter 24  The hangings  (2:51)
  12  Mouchette, the performer  (3:35)   25  The chapel  (3:27)
  13  All'Arie All'Arie • composed by Giovanna Salviucci Marini  (2:22) Écouter 26  Gloria Alleluia - The ennoblement  (4:02)
      DT 64:56


© 2002-2015 Disques CinéMusique